End of Week News, Other Things and Tidbits I’ve Seen Over the World & Internet

So I didn’t do the mid-week version because I was completely swapped with work on Wednesday and my internet connection was either having frequent connection drops or ridiculously low, instead I’m dong the End of Week issue.

We’re kicking off with

1:

I have to admit that I occasionally question my future career choice as I’m in the process of educating myself in photography and photojournalism. But then I read other photographers essays, blogs and columns and I remind myself that there are certain reasons and motives to my choice. And then I feel a whole lot more sure in the direction I’m going.

2: The New York Times has started a fascinating tumblr for those interested in old negative/film pictures from their archives. They aim to every week publish unearthed pictures to share with the world. The trickiest part is apparently choosing the images. The introduction/about page is worth a read:

How many? We don’t know. Our best guess is five million to six million prints and contact sheets (each sheet, of course, representing many discrete images) and 300,000 sacks of negatives, ranging in format size from 35 millimeter to 5 by 7 inches — at least 10 million frames in all. The picture archive also includes 13,500 DVDs, each storing about 4.7 gigabytes worth of imagery. When the Museum of Modern Art set out to exhibit the highlights of the Times archive in 1996, it dispatched four curators. They spent nine months poring over 3,000 subjects, working with two Times editors, one of whom spent a year on the project. In the end, they estimated that they’d seen only one-quarter of the total.

If we posted 10 new archival pictures every weekday on Tumblr, just from our print collection, we wouldn’t have the whole thing online until the year 3935.

If you want to check out the tumblr head over to The Lively Morgue and lose yourself in wonderful photographic treasures.

3: In other, vaguely photography-related news; Photoshop CS6 Beta has been released and here’s a handy list of improvements that come with the new software.

4: Also, check out The Tutu Project, Images by Bob Carey:

The Tutu Project began in 2003 as a lark. I mean, really, think of it. Me photographing myself in a pink tutu, how crazy is that?

But nine years ago my wife, Linda, and I moved to the East Coast and, as odd as it may sound, the self-portraits proved to be a perfect way of expressing myself. Why? Because even though the move was exciting, exhilarating, and inspiring, it was 180 degrees from what I knew. So I took the old, mixed it in with the new, and the kept the tutu handy.

Six months after the move, Linda, was diagnosed with breast cancer. She beat it, only to have it recur in 2006. During these past nine years, I’ve been in awe of her power, her beauty, and her spirit. Oddly enough, her cancer has taught us that life is good, dealing with it can be hard, and sometimes the very best thing—no, the only thing—we can do to face another day is to laugh at ourselves, and share a laugh with others.

Photography is at its best when it helps others. I especially adore this image:

(The Tutu Project, Malibu Tree by Bob Carey)

5: 60 Public Awareness Ads That Makes You Think – Hongkiat.com

On the list is one ad that has made me stop several names, the WWF: Lungs / Before It’s Too Late.

6: LEGO Tv Show Characters – The Laughing Squid, including everybody’s favorite yellow family:

Moving along to news:

7: Not All Fashion Companies Are Evil – NY Mag,  a list over the world’s most ethical companies has been released and apparently GAP corp. and cosmetics companies such as Estee Lauder are among the better ranking on the list.

8:2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films – metacritic. Personally I look forward to MiB 3, Moonrise Kingdom, The Bourne Legacy, Brave and The Hunger Games, just to name a few from the list.

9: In gamer news: Skyrim DLC/Expansions might be on their way to many gamers delight.

10: For Dr. Who fans, the Doctors new companion has been announced a first picture has been released and the current Doctor Matt Smith has already reacted to the choice.

In science and medicine:

11: Jupiter’s melting heart sheds light on mysterious exoplanet – Physorg.com

12: Domesticated Foxes: Man’s New Best Friend? – NPR

13: Baffling Illness Strikes Africa Turns Children Into Mindless Zombies – DailyTech

14: And here’s a column that hits the right nerve when it comes to causes such as the much-discussed Kony2012: The White Savior Industrial Complex by Teju Cole – The Atlantic. The tagline says a great deal:

If we are going to interfere in the lives of others, a little due diligence is a minimum requirement.

15: Something tragically ironic: Tragic suicide of woman, aged 105 She said she was tired of ‘waiting for death’ – The Sun

And we move on to the reddit fun:

16: A young girl asks for help with dealing with a bully, reddit gather in troops and take action, leading to the arrest of the bully.

17: ” What is the most unattractive thing you commonly see in people (men and women)?”

I have to admit that I spend some time reading AMA’s and this week there were a few that reached high up on the popularity scale:

18: IAmA Naby SEAL, AMAA (OSPEC and PERSEC won’t be violated).

19: Last summer I spent two weeks in North Korea on a state tour, AMA.

20: I served 5 1/2 years in prison AMA.

21: M’athchomaroon! My name is David J. Peterson, and I’m the creator of the Dotharki langauge for HBO’s Game of Thrones – AMA.

Finally, rounding off this post is a heap of pictures that I’ve stumbled upon on the interwebz. Why? Well, I like pictures.

Amazing Dallas skyline. Sometimes I miss Texas… Not that I don’t love Finland but I really, sincerely miss Dallas sometimes.

Sincerely, The Universe

You Are The Result

Bean!

“Happiest baby elephant ever”. Yep, I’d say that’s pretty accurate description.

Gentleman Shepard

Not an Instruction Manual

Please tell me that none of this is real. It can’t be… Can it?

 

And that’s it for me! I’ll be gone for the weekend and the beginning of the week if you’re wondering why there’s lack of posts.

Have a nice one folks!

r

Drop A Line or Two, or as They Say, Leave A Comment

