Thursday Night News & Things

It’s night here in chilly, northerly Finland and it’s about time I easied up my newsfeed and Reading List… Also I’ve completely lost my conception of time and day of the week – I know it’s Thursday but it seriously feels like Saturday… Unreal.

1: Have a look at this: Google Art Project: The White House Collection, where the Google Earth team’s been inside the White House and photographed art pieces in amazing detail, right down to the smallest pixel.

2: Those who know me know that I have a thing for lists. Put that together with another one of my loves, music and I can happily spend an entire afternoon reading lists like this one: 13 Songs That Don’t Mean What You Think They Do – Ranker

On reddit:

3: ” What is your #1 tip for saving money? “

4: ” I am Cracked.com’s columnist and editor, Soren Bowie AMA “

5: ” Has anyone actually bought anything from Skymall? What did yo get? “, my favorite one to read was the dancing R2-D2.

6: And I got more websites to follow through this thread: ” What’s a little known website everyone should know about? “

7: Read with caution: ” Reddit, what is in your opinion, the SCARIEST thing on the internet? “

8: ” What is the stupidest thing a classmate/someone at your school did on campus? “

9: ” How do girls develop “girl hand writing” and boys develop “boy hand writing”? “

10: ” TIL that at night , a rainbow is called a “moonbow. Here at some shots. “

Moving away from subreddits,

11: ‘We Have No Choice’: One Woman’s Ordeal with Texas’ New Sonogram Law – Texas Observer. I can’t help but me disgusted, worried and chocked about the new abortion laws that are spreading all over the USA… I mean… There’s not much I can say but I do support all the women who have to suffer unnecessarily because of it.

12: DoD’s “Big Data” – SkyNet coming to life? Via reddit

13: Indian Man Single-Handedly Plants a 1,360 Acre Forest – treehugger

14: Gulf’s dolphins pay heavy price for Deepwater Horizon oil spill – The Raw Story

15: I know that this is technically old news but it’s still so cool: James Cameron Completes Record-Breaking Mariana Trench Dive – National Geographic. I’d be lying if I said that I wasn’t jealous. It would be so amazing to see the deepest, open part of Earth…

16: Also, James Cameron’s first footage from the deep – The Telegraph

17: Single Antibody Shrinks Variety of Human Tumors Transplanted Into Mice, Study Shows – ScienceDaily

18: The Curator’s Guide to the Galaxy – The Atlantic, which reports about The Curator’s Code which is:

 …  a system — and, she hopes, a movement — to “honor and standardize the attribution of discovery across the web.” The new project offers both a code of ethics and a common standard for borrowing and sharing. It aims to provide a framework for celebrating curation by way of formalizing it — or, as Popova describes it, of “keeping the whimsical rabbit hole of the Internet open by honoring discovery.”

19: 

The internet has intensified connections between people across the planet. In this episode we take a look at the impact of this new interconnectivity on the art world. Traditional funding models are dissolving, new forms of expressing ownership have arisen to accomodate for remix culture, and artists are finding ways to connect physical art experiences and traditions to the internet. In the digital era, the experience of art from the perspective of the artist and the art audience is shifting rapidly, and bringing more people into the creative process.

20: Amazing animated short film set in a post-apocalyptic world: 

And finally for some pictures:

Keira

Religon vs. The Internet?

How To Care for Introverts

This made me chuckle:

Poekemon

One cannot neglect a long love for Pokemon…

Non-Regulation Pokémon Balls

Here’s something for my brew-loving brother:

Complete Guide To All Beer Types

And finally to cheer up his stressed out girlfriend (who reads this blog – Hi hammasanwich!)

happiest baby elephant you’ll ever see

r

Drop A Line or Two, or as They Say, Leave A Comment

